Rio, The Script, and the weekend that was

From a movie about a flightless bird to a foreign act concert in Manila, I can say that this past weekend was great — to say the least.

Last week was sort of stressful for my Baby that he wanted to watch a movie on a Wednesday work night. Of course that did not push through because for one, I needed to go home early, and also, we weren’t able to catch the earlier screening schedule of the movie he wanted to watch.

Finally, come Friday, we had the chance to watch the movie Rio. I wasn’t expecting that much from the movie because my belief is that if it’s not a Pixar/Disney animated movie, then it won’t be good.

But, dear, was I wrong. From the story, visual effects, down to music and dubbing, the movie delivered. It was good bordering on being great.

Opening with a festival of colors and music with the birds doing a musical number, Rio is a must-watch.

Rio is basically about Blu,  a blue Macaw bird who can’t fly because of being so domesticated by a girl. Later on they will find out that Blu is the last male of his species and an ornithologist wants him to mate with the last female blue Macaw in Rio de Janeiro. Once in the festive city, Blu’s adventure begins as he learns how to accept who he really is, and in the way meet and gain new friends.
Lending their voices to the lead characters are Jesse Eisenberg and Anne Hathaway. Other artists in the movie include Jamie Foxx, George Lopez and Will.i.am.

Make sure to catch it on cinemas.



Saturday

The Script LIVE in Manila

Then last Saturday, my partner and I were able to watch The Script LIVE in Manila at the Araneta Coliseum. We were with our friends, Jean, Dan, Jen, Patrick and Carl.

I originally planned on buying the tickets to surprise my partner but I wasn’t able to get any. Fortunately, his brother who works in one of the concert’s sponsors gave us two free tickets. We were also able to get Jean a ticket.

I am not really a fan of the Irish band although I like all the singles that they have released.

The one-and-a-half-hour concert was good. The audience were singing along to most of the songs. I was only able to sing along to five songs. Anyway, their songs were all good.

The stage was also surprisingly good, looking at how simple it was.

Of the songs they sang that night, I’m yours was my favorite.


The Script singing I’m Yours in Amsterdam.


I may not have the softest touch
I may not say the words as such
And though I may not look like much
I’m yours
And though my edges may be rough
And never feel I’m quite enough
It may not seem like very much
But I’m yours 

After the concert, my partner, Jean, Jen, Dan and I went to Cubao X for our super late dinner. We ate at Alan’s Grill and ordered Kare-kareng Bulalo and Crispy Pata. They were delicious!

My partner and I went home to his place at around midnight. Jean tagged along because she left some stuff earlier that day. We talked for around 2 more hours or so. Haha.

Sunday

What happened on this day? Oh nothing, just great make-up sex.

2 thoughts on “Rio, The Script, and the weekend that was

  1. nOx April 18, 2011 / 4:19 pm

    i was at the concert too! and loved that song as well 🙂

    • The Babbler April 18, 2011 / 4:29 pm

      It was the first time I heard of the song and I instantly fell in love with it.

      Anyway, can you be seen in the Twitpic they took during the concert? 😛

What do you think?

