Movie Review: Sana Dati

It was raining hard and the traffic was really bad last night. But I none of it stopped me from going to Greenbelt to watch “Sana Dati.”

My main motivation for watching the film was the cast. Paulo Avelino, TJ Trinidad and Benjamin Alves. It was a feast! But also I know that it has an element of romance in it and I am sucker for anything romantic.

Sana Dati
DIRECTED BY:
Jerrold Tarog. MAIN CAST: Paulo Avelino, Lovi Poe, Benjamin Alves, Ria Garcia, and TJ Trinidad

Sana Dati is “a love story about a woman whose wedding is thrown into disarray when a mysterious person arrives and reminds her of the man she really loves. It is the third part of Tarog’s Camera Trilogy after CONFESSIONAL (Cinema One Originals 2007) and MANGATYANAN (Cinemalaya 2009).”

The story was simple and heartbreaking. It was a story of woman who cannot move on from a previous relationship. It also tackles the concept of singularity — when the past, the present and the future are all happening and defined in that one moment. And it was portrayed effectively with the use of a single location for the “present” story and how the lives of the characters were changed after the events in that location.

I am still in awe at how Paulo Avelino’s acting progressed and improved since his Starstruck and GMA days. He was so natural in portraying his role. You could feel that he was hurting inside.

Lovi Poe was just as good in this movie. Although you could feel and notice that she already has this certain way of acting. But she still delivered.

Benjamin Alves was also a revelation in this movie. Though having only few scenes, he was able to let the audience feel his love for her girlfriend as well as his wanting to be free from the restrictions in his life.

Sitting through the film made me feel like I was watching a Pinoy version of Richard Linklater’s Before Sunrise/Sunset/Midnight. The characters drove the story of the film.

I also admired how they ended the film. It made me think about the characters’ motivations in making their decisions.

The film played with my emotions like crazy. One moment I was heartbroken and then I was so in love come the next scene. It was a roller coaster ride of emotions. And I loved it.

Simply put, it was painfully beautiful. And I would love to watch it again.

I give this film 4 out of 5 stars. I told you I love my romance films.

For more information about the films and the festival, visit http://www.cinemalaya.org/

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Sana Dati

  1. Anonymous August 1, 2013 / 11:35 am

    I don’t often (rarely really) see a Filipino romantic film but because I was convinced with your review of the film, I will go see it Billie. 🙂

    • The Pinoy Babbler August 1, 2013 / 11:39 am

      Please do! It’s still showing until August 4 (which sucks). I really want to watch it again, if I have the time.

What do you think?

