Finding no fault in “The Fault In Our Stars”

Well, the title’s not entirely accurate. If I’m nitpicking, of course I can find things that could’ve been better in the film adaptation of John Green’s novel.

tfios movie poster 2

“The Fault In Our Stars” is the first young-adult novel I’ve read, as far as my memory can recall. And boy was it the perfect introduction for me. I decided to read it when I learned that a film adaptation was in the works. Although I’ve been hearing a lot about it already from my friends.

The story is uncomplicated, yet so full of emotions that I related to. Needless to say, I (sort of) cried while reading the novel. And I cried while watching the film. That is why, regardless of the omission of some parts of the novel, the film served its purpose well: to bring the same emotions that the novel gave its readers.

For me, the casting was perfect. And although Shailene Woodley sometimes does not register that well on screen, I blame it on her character’s cancer. Ansel Elgort on the other hand easily wins his audience over his charm and effective portrayal of the character Augustus Waters. You can’t help but fall in love with, pity, and feel for him.

Apart from the relatable story, it is the quotes that really helps the readers and viewers connect with the characters and the story. I wouldn’t be surprised if a lot of readers would have the lines from the story as their life quote:

7

1

2

3

4

5

6

8

9

 

To help you get in the mood, here’s Ed Sheeran’s song used in the movie, “All of the Stars.” Prepare your tissue, here we go:

What do you think?

