[BOOK REVIEW] Sidney Sheldon’s “Morning, Noon & Night”

morning-noon-night

I love Sidney Sheldon. I don’t necessarily love all his works (The Naked Face was dragging, The Master of the Game too long), but he is one of the very few authors who I can just rely on when I can’t decide which book to buy or read.

“Morning, Noon & Night” is probably the fifth book of his that I’ve read.

And because I don’t have the book with me, I’m copying the novel’s plot as told by Wikipedia:

“The Stanford family is one of the most respected in America – but behind the facade of fame and glamour lies a hidden web of blackmail, drugs and murder. When Harry Stanford, one of the wealthiest men in the world,mysteriously drowns while cruising on his yacht off the rugged coast of Corsica, it sets off a chain of events that reverberates around the globe. At the family gathering following the funeral in Boston, a strikingly beautiful young woman appears. She claims to be Stanford’s daughter and entitled to a share of the tycoon’s estate. Is she genuine, or is she an impostor? Sweeping from the splendors of the Italian Riviera, to the fashion salons of Paris and New York, and the opulence of Boston and Florida, Morning, Noon & Night twists and turns its way through intrigue, smoke and mirrors to a surprise ending you’ll never forget.”

The story is easy enough to read. There’s no flashback or vague clues that you have to tie together. It’s a typical story about siblings about to inherit the estate of America’s richest, and most influential man.

I’ve seen so many films about the topic already, and the novel does not add something new to the mix. There’s deception and betrayal.

Halfway through the novel, I already thought of a possible finish to the story and was constantly hoping that it was not the book’s ending. Unfortunately, my guess was correct. And it was the perfect anti-climax for a novel that tried to build up to such an enormous ending. There was a twist, alright. But somehow, it was too corny or cheesy for my taste.

Still, nothing topples “Nothing Lasts Forever” as my favorite Sheldon book. But I still have a lot left to read so, who knows?

What do you think?

