Apple Reveals iPhone 6, iPhone 6 Plus and Apple Watch

I’ve had this feeling for a long time now that the industry has reached its plateau in introducing real innovations on smartphones. That’s why I’m not surprised when Apple revealed iPhone 6 (4.7 inches) and iPhone 6 Plus (5.5 inches) and just boasted its bigger size (compared to previous iPhone models, of course. Other flagship phones have long reached that screen size range) and better internal specs.

Suddenly, a landscap mode for the phone’s homescreen became one of its notable features. I’m not a tech person and I fully trust Apple when they said that the new iPhone models will be faster and smoother. What I’m happy about is that they did not try to put any gimmick on the phone just so they have something to boast about. (I still don’t get the logic of having a hear rate monitor on your phone.)

Of course, there are other new features as well. There’s the Apple Pay, which can only be used by the iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus users. Taking advantage of the Near Field Communication (NFC) technology, the new iPhones can now be used as a payment method. I’m 101% sure that this will initially be available in the U.S.

I was not all that excited about iPhone 6. Basically because I just had my iPhone 5S, under 2-year contract with Globe, this January and I don’t plan on wasting more than PhP40,000 to buy a new phone. I’m just happy that I won’t be that jealous of people who will get the iPhone 6. So Yay for me! 😀

To compare iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus with other (and older) iPhone models, check the spec sheet provided by Apple: http://www.apple.com/iphone/compare/

What really peaked my interest was the Apple Watch. There were lots of rumors prior the event about the wearable product Apple will introduce. A lot of articles even referred to it as iWatch, following the naming pattern of Apple with its products. What really got me excited was the rumors on its design and construction. I am IN LOVE with how Moto 360 and LG G Watch look like. That was why I was hoping Apple would go the same circular watch face direction.

Unfortunately, they didn’t. And I am not really sold on their design.

Apple Watches
From Mashable

I love collecting watches, and I was never a fan of square watch faces. For me, it just doesn’t look that stylish. And that was my initial thought when I saw Apple Watch.

It didn’t help that there are A LOT of cheap watches here in the Philippines that sport the same square shapre. To be honest, Apple Watch looked cheap for me, especially the Sports line.

But while I was struggling to keep my eyes open trying to watch that failure of a livestream, the watch somehow grew on me. Not the design itself, but its OS and functionality.

I like that it doesn’t have a camera. I also love how they utilize the “digital crown” or the knob in traditional watches. The digital crown is what users will mainly use to navigate Apple Watch. The logic being, using your finger will only block almost half of the screen real estate. Which makes sense. I think.

Towards the end of the keynote, they started showing all the designs for their watches. There will basically be three lines of designs: 1) the Apple Watch, 2) the Apple Watch Sports, and 3) the Apple Watch Edition.

Apple Watch Metal Bands
I loke all the chain straps. I think the chains complement the rather shiny finish of the watch face. From Mashable
Apple Watch
Like the blue and black straps. From Mashable
Apple Watch Leather Loop
Again, the blue leather loop strap. From Mashable
Apple Watch Sport
Hate these. They initially showed these designs and looked cheap. From Mashable
Apple Watch Edition
Not a fan of gold accessories. But the gold watch face with red strap looks good. From Mashable

I won’t talk much about its features. The interface has an inspired design. It’s true when Tim Cook said that they didn’t want an iPhone interface shrinked and forced to fit in a watch size. I’m just concerned about all its notification functions: when you receive a text message/call/email, when an event is happening, when you need to stand up (hourly notification!!!), when you need to take the next turn for your direction, etc.

Would I buy it? Probably. Not on the first week of release though. I want to read the experiences of those who bought them. I tend not to believe on some tech reviews because they’re either paid, or biased (for or against). I just wish I have friends who will buy it so I can annoy them with all my questions.

I just really wish they went this direction, design-wise:

Moto_360_Watch-Watch Faces

or with this one:

Lggwatchr2
Actually, looking at it again, the material and finish don’t have that “premium” feel. But I still like that it’s round.

 

 

What do you think?

